I was born in Los Angeles, graduated from UCLA, taught H.S. English for t years, worked at an advertising agency for 15, married one of the partners, raised 2 daughters, moved to the Coachella Valley when they were pre-schoolers, joined the UU congregation there after they went off to college, moved here in 2016 where the eldest lives with her husband and the 4-year-old that made me eligible to be a member of the Society of Fearless Grandmothers - Santa Barbara. I love to cook, write, read, view, learn, play games and enjoy the beautiful outdoor spaces in our community.


Baking, Cleaning & Organization, Clerical/Office Support, Cooking, Editing, Interior Design/Decoration, Office/Administration, Theater, Writing/Editing


Archives/Research, Books, Concerts, Cooking, Environmental Sustainability, Games (indoor/board), Gardening, Movies

I was Born in Phoenix, Arizona in 1943. My family (mother, father, and older sister) and I moved to Long Beach in 1954. I graduated from UC Berkeley and then was drafted into the US Army in 1966. In the Army I was a social work technician in a locked psychiatric facility. From 1968 until 1976 I was in graduate school at UCLA for a MSW and the University of Michigan for a Ph.D. in Psychology and Social Work. . My education at the universities and in the Army defined my career. I worked in a small software business that created technology for the mental health field. The introduction of technology to health providers in the early years was very challenging. Then as now, I find computer technology exciting. My focus has always been on learning how to make technology accessible.

I was married for 42 years to Sarah. She died in 2006 after a long illness. We lived in California, Michigan, Missouri, Wisconsin and Tennessee. We moved to pursue our education and careers. We raised two daughters, Laura and Suzanne. I now have 3 grandchildren. Wren, Emily and Jayden. My family has always remained my priority.

The past 16 years I have been with my wife Eileen Bunning. Eileen and I joined USSB to find a community. This was a good decision. As a member, I have served on the USSB Board, and the Committee on shared ministry. Eileen and I benefited from participating and leading in several Connection Circles. In the past several years I have served as a volunteer coordinator for our Freedom Warming Shelter. I have enjoyed helping with past auction events by preparing the food for that gathering.

Like many retired people, I enjoy walking in our incredible outdoors, practicing Tai Chi in the park, writing my memoirs, reading, and traveling with Eileen. Together we have been fortunate to visit many countries and learn about the world in which we live.

I was raised in a small town in northern Minnesota, graduated from the U of M with a teachers’ credential and a degree in communication and immediately hightailed it for California. My mom was from an elegant, educated family and my dad was first generation from a Yugoslav immigrant family. I had one older brother who was mentally compromised from birth. I have two adult offspring. My son & family live in LA and my daughter & grandson live in Santa Cruz.

My career has been a delightful patchwork: high school & college teacher; theater summer stock in Colorado; Advertising Director and Public Relations Manager in Banking; minor TV commercials; theater in Lima, Peru; teacher of English as a Second Language; Executive Director of a career counseling nonprofit for later life men & women; own and operate a small rental property management business; and ultimately a long term owner/operator of a small and diminishing chain of candy manufacturing and retail stores in Nevada, Wisconsin & California.

I love the outdoors, sports and challenging physical activities: swimming, Pickleball, hiking, dancing, biking, camping etc. I also love the fancy, classical stuff where I get a chance to take off my sneakers and dress up: theater, opera, dinners out, art shows, musical events & festivals. I especially love entertaining & education and have initiated several salons or small interest groups. I’m a self-described spiritual overachiever, a Jew by choice, and Queen of the remodeled garage apartment, having transformed dozens of garages & stores.

I’ve been a member of 3 UU congregations, and a member of USSB for over 20 years where at one time or another I’ve enjoyably served on most of our committees.

My biggest accomplishment is having survived Pancreatic Cancer in 2004 and my biggest challenge is to Slow Down – with grace!

I lived most of my life in Seattle. I graduated from the University of Washington with a BA in history. Apprenticed and became a journeyman union signpainter.

Eventually started my own sign business. Met my wife, Anita Blume, in 1983 and we’ve been together ever since. Anita's daughter, from a previous marriage, afforded us the joy of grand parenting Serena and Noah.

I gave up the sign business when we moved to Santa Barbara in 1999. We immediately became involved with USSB and this has been the center of our social and spiritual lives ever since. I have served on, and lead, many committees; organized talent shows; acted in USSB theater productions; was employed as USSB facilities manager and event facilitator for 5 years. My most meaningful endeavors, however, have been my 8 years helping to lead the Coming of Age program and the 10 years as a worship associate.

I volunteered at Casa Esperanza Homeless Shelter (now PATH) for 5 years. Then I volunteered as the executive director of Showers of Blessing for 5 years.


Camping/Outdoor Skills, Event Management, Facilitation, Fine Art/Art, Hiking, Hosting Gatherings/Events, Interior Design/Decoration, Painting/Art, Public Speaking, Singing, Teaching Adults, Teaching Children, Theater


Adult Programs, Art, Concerts, Environmental Sustainability, Fixing/Building, Hosting Events/Gatherings, Movies, Social Justice, Working with Teenagers/Youth